April 2018 | New Commenting System FAQs

Effective April 30th, 2018, The Globe launched a new commenting system for articles on Globeandmail.com.

Who can comment on the site?

Only subscribers to Globe Unlimited can comment and engage with other readers’ comments on the site. Please visit our subscriptions page if you would like to become a subscriber. Readers can also engage with our articles on The Globe and Mail’s Facebook page and on Twitter.

 

Who can read comments on the site?

Everyone, whether they are logged in or not, will be able to read and sort comments. Features that allow for further engagement such as the “Respect,” “Reply,” and “Report” buttons will only work for logged-in subscribers.

 

How can I change my display name on globeandmail.com?

Unfortunately users cannot change their display names. Your display name remains the one you selected when signing up for Globe Unlimited. You can see your display name in the top right corner of the site when logged in.

 

What type of comments is The Globe looking for?
We value intelligent debate and welcome all views and opinions, as long as they are respectful and abide by our community guidelines. We also welcome shared experiences and questions related to the article. Please avoid posting off-topic comments.

Please do not flag typos in the comments. To alert our editors to a typo, select the “Report an Error” option at the bottom of each article.

Does The Globe use moderators?
Yes, moderators review comments which have been reported by other users and review all comments on pre-moderated articles.

 

Is my comment reviewed by other users?
No, users no longer review  comments from other users for quality before they are posted. Users can show a comment “respect” after it has been posted, or report it for review by a moderator if they feel it violates community guidelines.


What happens when a comment is reported?

The comment is sent to a moderator, who will approve or reject it based on The Globe’s community guidelines.

When is a comment rejected?
A comment is rejected when it contains profanity, hate speech, or when a moderator feels it violates our community guidelines.

What happens when a comment is rejected?
If a comment is rejected, it is removed from the site. The author of the comment is not notified. Comments can be rejected in one of three ways:

  1. By a moderator after a comment has be posted and is reported by another user and the moderator determines the comment violates community guidelines.
  2. By a moderator before a comment is posted in the case of pre-moderated articles. If a comment is rejected it is because it violates community guidelines.
  3. By an algorithm designed to prevent comments from being posted which include foul language or hate speech.

 

Why are comments not available on some articles?

  1. Legal reasons: A story involves a trial, crime or other legal case, and comments by readers could breach a publication ban or otherwise reveal information that could put The Globe at risk. In this situation, comments are closed by default at the time the story is posted, and an automated message is posted saying that comments "have been closed for legal reasons."
  2. Abuse: A story involves a particularly contentious issue, and provokes comments that are offensive, vulgar, racist and/or libelous. In this situation, our policy is to close the story when the volume of such comments becomes unmanageable.

 

How is a user blocked in the new platform?
Moderators will have the option to suspend users temporarily, or in extreme cases, block them entirely.  

Suspended users will see a message informing them they have been suspended in place of the commenting box. This message will include a countdown indicating when the user’s suspension will be lifted.

Banned users will see a message informing them they have been banned in place of the commenting box.

 

I’ve been unfairly suspended/banned in comments, can you tell me why?

Users who feel they have been unfairly suspended or banned are encouraged to reach out to The Globe’s customer service department.

 

Will previously blocked user still be blocked in the new platform?
No. Previously blocked subscribers will no longer be blocked in the new system.

Is there a character limit?
There is a limit of 1,200 characters per comment, but there is no limit to the number of comments you can make.

How can users react to a comment?
Users can engage with a comment by showing “respect.” The Respect button is located in the bottom left corner of each comment. If a comment violates our community guidelines users are encouraged to flag that comment for our moderators by clicking the “Report” button located to the right of each comment.

Can I respond to a comment?
Yes, logged-in subscribers can respond to a comment by clicking the “Reply” button. Replies can also be replied to.

How can I sort comments?

All readers can sort comments in four ways. By newest first, oldest first, most respected and most replies. Readers can also chose to filter out off-topic comments. These options are available under the “Viewing Options” menu on the right side of the comment box.

 

I can’t see my comment - what happened?
Try sorting comments by ‘newest first’, your comment should appear at the top. If your comment has disappeared it is likely that it was rejected by a moderator for violating our community guidelines. If your comment has yet to appear, it may be waiting to be reviewed by a moderator. 


Can I edit my comment once it’s published?
Yes, you can edit your comments up to seven minutes after it is published. To edit a comment, users simply need to select the “EDIT” option in the right corner of the comment within seven minutes of publishing. If an edit is made and re-submitted, the seven-minute countdown is reset.


Can I delete my comment once it’s published?
No, comments cannot be deleted once posted. Users, however, have seven minutes to edit a comment after they have posted it.

To edit a comment, users simply need to select the “EDIT” option in the right corner of the comment within seven minutes of publishing. Comments can be edited more than once. If an edit is made and re-submitted, the seven-minute countdown is reset.


Can I comment on the mobile website?
Yes. All readers will be able to view comments on the mobile version of the website and logged-in subscribers will be able to comment and interact with comments in the same way as on the desktop version.

Can I comment on the app?

No. Readers will not be able to view comments while using the Globe and Mail app and will not be able to comment while using the app.



What happened to my old comments?
Comments made before the launch of our new comment platform will be visible on article pages across the site. Users will no longer be able to see their comment history in their user profiles.

My activity is being restricted, what happened?
Users who repeatedly violate our community guidelines will be suspended and in extreme cases banned.

Suspended users will see a message informing them they have been suspended in place of the commenting box. This message will include a countdown indicating when the user’s suspension will be lifted.

Banned users will see a message informing them they have been banned in place of the commenting box.

 

What vendor does The Globe use for their commenting tool?

The Globe uses the Coral Project’s commenting tool, Talk, which has been designed specifically with newsrooms in mind. Talk is open source, giving us all an opportunity to contribute and learn. Our choice to work with The Coral Project is part of our efforts to elevate the tone of conversations across our site, increase value for subscribers and reduce the amount of trolling in our commenting sections.


Can an ad blocker interfere with the platform?
We have not experienced that. The platform is not using cookies for authentication so blockers should not impact the service.

I receive an error telling me "You are not authorized to perform this action” when I try to comment. What do I do?

Logging out of globeandmail.com and logging back in should eliminate this error and allow readers to comment. This is a known glitch and we are working to fix it. 

  • 296
  • 01-May-2018
  • 293 Views